Wanted: More Older Women Discipling Younger Women

Wanted: More Older Women Discipling Younger Women

{Quick Disclaimer from the writer of The Baptist Way Blog – The views expressed in this article are only linked on my site in order to give you food for thought on an issue that is moving to the forefront of our modern church worship! – Pastor Wayne}

I had spoken on the topic of biblical womanhood and a college-age woman asked me a thoughtful question: How can I think biblically about my womanhood when I am constantly told that independence is power and that I should seek my own fulfillment and determine my own destiny?

My answer: “Go to godly women in your church and ask them to speak the truth of biblical womanhood into your life. Ask them to show you how to live for God’s glory as a woman.” But then I wondered, “Is this young woman’s church preparing its women to answer her question?” Someone is teaching women and girls what it means to be a woman. Is it the church or the world?

Older women discipling younger women is not just a nifty idea someone concocted, and it is not optional. It’s a gospel imperative. The apostle Paul writes,

Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, and so train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled. (Titus 2:3-5)

In light of this passage, let’s consider some questions that will help the church sound the call for women to invest themselves in younger women. I pray that this brief article would challenge women to respond to this high and holy calling. (Read More)

About Pastor Wayne

I am a Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary graduate who is glad to know that we can have hope in the resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ because His mercies are new every morning (Lam. 3:22-23). I am a conservative, Bible believing Christian Pastor. I am married to a very godly young woman who has blessed me with a precious daughter. I hope this blog will be thought provoking and encouraging to all of you! God Bless!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wanted: More Older Women Discipling Younger Women

  1. Hey Pastor Wayne! 🙂
    I love the ideas you wrote about in this post! I agree that society sometimes has a stronger voice than the church. Our Proverbs 31 woman is not seen as often as she should be. Just after Brantley and I got married I did a women mentoring women program called ‘Apples of Gold’ at our church. What an eye opener. I struggled with giving Brantley leadership and trust in our relationship and did not see how I fit into the puzzle. I felt like I would just be in his shadow, or that if I am always serving/caring for him how am I serving God? But that was just it, I am serving God by letting Brantley lead, I make him stronger and a better leader when I serve him and pray for him. I still have to work on this daily. Many women think marraige is 50/50 and they expect their husbands to share in all responsibilities- this shouldn’t be the expection. Apples of Gold was great, I learned not only about my place in our new family, but also some homemaker stuff too. 🙂 Cooking, decorating, etc. The women who lead the group prayed for the younger women they mentored, there were Bible studies and time for Q&A. Each one shared their testimony and how they evolved in their own marriages. Obviously my group was more married women, but what a great picture to paint for non married women/young ladies as well! Hope all is well with baby Abigail!!! 🙂 We will have to visit this summer!
    http://www.applesofgold.org/ http://www.applesofgold.org/home.shtml

  2. Pastor Wayne says:

    Hey Marcie,
    Thanks for your comment! I am curious about your apples of gold! I am going to follow your link later this week when I get a few minutes of free time! Sounds very interesting!
    Please note, however, that I did not author the above post! It is linked from another Baptist ministry! Tell B, that I say hello! Can’t wait for the summer to get here so that we can see you two! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

